X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Decent Victorian Social History Books

Hello
    I am new here and my name is Derrick.
    I am an amateur short story writer with an interest in the Victorian era.

What I would like to ask of you here is recommendations of reputable and reliable books/resources relating to social history especially the police and police procedures during the latter half of the 19th century.

Thanks in advance
    Derrick

Hi Derrick,

I imagine that there are quite a few books on this topic but, by coincidence, I read this one recently and found it quite good:
    Smith, Phillip Thurmond, Policing Victorian London: Political Policing, Public Order, and the London Metropolitan Police. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1985.

P.S. For future reference, you should have posted this query on the Books thread, mate.

Comment

Sorry about the thread mistake...

Originally posted by The Grave Maurice View Post
      Hi Derrick,

I imagine that there are quite a few books on this topic but, by coincidence, I read this one recently and found it quite good:
      Smith, Phillip Thurmond, Policing Victorian London: Political Policing, Public Order, and the London Metropolitan Police. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1985.
      P.S. For future reference, you should have posted this query on the Books thread, mate.
      Thank you TGM for that book ref.
      To be honest as a new member I wasn't sure where to post up my cherry breaking intro but I appreciate your advice and I will post this afresh on the books thread.

Best wishes
      Derrick

Comment

For popular Victorian Culture, Matthew Sweet's 'Inventing the Victorians' is a great read.
        A good social history is' London in the 19th century''By Jerry White
        Any book by Professor William Fishman
        Jack the Ripper, Scotland Yard Investigates by Stewart P Evans, A good overview of police methods in the ripper investigation.
        Cheers Miss Marple