X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Autopsy Question (recovered)

Elias4th June 2006, 12:27 PM
    Hi all,

I was reading, well, more trying to decrypt it really, the autopsy report of Eddowes and came upon the following:

"The sigmoid flexure was invaginated into the rectum very tightly." (from The mammoth book of JtR, page 80).

Well, the "sigmoid flexure" is, according to what I found on the web, "the s-shaped curve between the descending colon and the rectum" and "invaginated" means "fold inwards".

So my question, and I don't really know anything about the jarong of coroners, is - could this be said to suggest anal "connexion"? If not, well, then what does it mean and how does it happen?

All the best,

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

JMenges4th June 2006, 01:20 PM
    Hi.

I'm no doctor, but I do have Google (so I may be wrong), but from what I read it sounds as though an "invaginated sigmoid flexure" that clogs up the rectum is what, in some cases, causes constipation. It's a condition called intussusception that can be acute or chronic and bother the sufferer on and off for years. A poor diet, like eating too much oats, could lead to this. I'd say that the discovery of this condition in Eddowes does not evidence "anal connexion", just that she was having certain personal problems with her bowels at the time of her death.

I won't speculate on whether this problem would have caused feces build up in her intestines, or how that may relate to the material found on the piece of apron, because sometimes the re-dissection of these poor women by us posters makes me uncomfortable. Not constipated-uncomfortable, but just uncomfortable.

Here is a link I read concerning intestinal obstruction

Are your visitors getting lost on your website? Put a search engine on your web site to help your visitors find the content they're looking for. Completely free, lightning fast, and super-easy to use.

JM