Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Books By Mrtin Howells, Keith Skinner and Shirley Harrison

Gday fellow members,

I am new to the study of Ripperology and am seeking opinions on the following books that i have purchased.

The Diary of Jack the Ripper
    Narrative by Shirley Harrison
    Pub Smith Gryphon Publishers

The Ripper Legacy
    The Life and Death of Jack the ripper
    By Martin Howells and Keith Skinner

I am sure most of you might know of these authors and i have seen Martin and Keith's name quite a bit however as a beginner i am interested if this a good start and other peoples opinons on these two books.

Look forward to hearing from you all

Farex

I wouldn't recommend either for the general reader.

People who are particularly interested in the Maybrick Diary (to whom I would say, "Don't do it!") will want to read Harrison, and people who are particularly interested in Druitt will want to read Howells and Skinner, but for others there are a number of books that give a much better treatment of the case as a whole.

Comment

Legacy is one of the best books about the Druitt theory. It strikes a good balance between being well support and readable.

Harrison's book is about the Maybrick diary. It's a great read. Entire Diaryworld at your own peril.
      “Sans arme, sans violence et sans haine”

Comment

"interesting" lol

I have just finished reading "The Diary" and agree that you certainly could walk away feeling that you have a very convincing arguement that Maybrick was the killer.
        However i found some interesting points that i found didnt match myself and i being a person who wants to find out everything i can about each suspect i choose not to make my own conclusion just yet.